New Music in the IAYO Library

IAYO have recently added copies of the Orchanics series by Richard Ling to the IAYO music library.

The sets are all written for beginner up to grade 3 standard and all string parts are in first position. Some special effects, including strings glissando and flute tonguing, are included. Some of the tunes included in the set are ‘Ode to Joy’, ‘Spring’ from The Four Seasons, ‘Good King Wenceslas’ and ‘Yellow Bird’.

This collection of three books each contains eight varied pieces and has been compiled to capture the imagination of young players and to introduce them to a wide range of musical styles.

Special effects appropriate to each instrument provide additional learning points and great entertainment both in rehearsal and performance. There are glissandos for strings and trombone, flutter tonguing for flute and trumpets (for those able to) and a range of vocal sounds for all!

The scoring allows these pieces to be played by various combinations of instruments. Ideally, your orchestra should have some instruments from each section, but if not (for example, no brass), then the supplementary piano part can be used to fill the gaps. It can also be used to provide extra support in rehearsals.

Orchestra sets are for:

Descant recorder, Treble recorder, Flute 1, Flute 2 or Oboe, Clarinet 1, Clarinet 2, Alto Sax, Bassoon, Horn in F, Horn in Eb, Trumpet 1, Trumpet 2, Trombone (Bass clef), Trombone (Treble clef), Timpani, Drum Kit, Percussion 1, Percussion 2, Percussion 3.
Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Violin 3, Viola, Cello, Bass)
Optional Piano.

Contact the IAYO office to try them out with your orchestra.