The National Concert Hall Announce Music Bursaries

The National Concert Hall (NCH) has announced details of its three bursaries supporting young musicians and composers. The awards include financial support of up to €10,000 and performance opportunities. The application deadlines are in May. Please see below for more information.

The Young Musician Award for String Players is a biennial award that supports the development of talented young musicians and was established following a benefit concert by Anne-Sophie Mutter with the Trondheim Soloists Chamber Orchestra. The award fund of up to €10,000 (to be used for further study or towards an instrument upgrade) can be made to one or two young musicians. It is open to young classical string players of violin, viola, cello or double bass (between the ages of 13 and 17). Previous winners include Julieanne Forrest, Claire O’Connor, Fiachra De hÓra, Callum Owens, Kevin Jansson and Killian White. The deadline for applications is 5pm on Wednesday, 3 May.

The Jerome Hynes Young Composer’s Award offers a commission to produce a work that will be premiered at the NCH, plus a cash prize of €2,500. Applicants are asked to submit the scores of two existing pieces, at least one of which should be for voice and piano. The award is named after the first managing director of Wexford Festival Opera, later becoming its chief executive and also a board member of the National Concert Hall, the Arts Council and the West Cork Chamber Music Festival. Previous winners of the award include Anselm McDonnell, Timothy Doyle, Kevin Terry, Christopher Moriarty, Robert Coleman, David Coonan, Eoghan Desmond, Alex Dowling, Amanda Feery and Emma O’Halloran. Deadline for entry is 5pm on Friday, 5 May.

The Bernadette Greevy Bursary, named after the renowned singer, educator and founder of the Anna Livia Dublin International Opera Festival, is awarded to a classical singer of any voice type. The prize of €5,000 can be used to support the singer in their tuition and early career and the award also includes a recital at the NCH. Previous winners include Kelli-Ann Masterson, Sarah Richmond, Susie Gibbons, Sinead O’Kelly, Sarah Brady, Padraic Rowan, Róisín Walsh, Gemma Ní Bhriain, Jennifer Davis, Rachel Kelly, Aoife Miskelly and Gavan Ring. The deadline for applications is 5pm on Wednesday, 10 May.